Announcing the Winners of the 2014 Fischoff Competition

NOTRE DAME, IN (May 11, 2014) - Out of 48 competing ensembles from across the nation and around the world, the Telegraph Quartet has won the coveted Grand Prize of the 2014 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition ($7,500.00) and the Gold Medal ($3,500.00) in the Senior String Division. Akropolis Reed Quintet captured the Gold Medal ($3,500.00) in the Senior Wind Division. In addition to prize money, both ensembles will participate in a Winner's Tour of the Midwestern United States this fall, and the Teletraph Quartet will perform several concerts in the Emilia Romagna Festival in Italy in 2015. Telegraph Quartet members Eric Chin (violin), Joseph Maile (violin), Pei-Ling Lin (viola) and Jeremiah Shaw (cello) are from San Francisco, California. Akropolis Reed Quintet members Tim Gocklin (oboe), Kari Dion (clarinet), Matt Landry (saxophone), Andrew Koeppe (bass clarinet) and Ryan Reynolds (bassoon), are from Ann Arbor, Michigan.
In the Senior Wind Division, the Silver Medal ($3,000) was awarded to the Echo Saxophone Quartet of Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan. Members include Matthew Tracy (soprano saxophone), Kyle Landry (alto saxophone), Casey Grev (tenor saxophone) and Eric Troiano (baritone saxophone). The Senior Wind Division Bronze Medal ($2,000) was awarded to Lincoln Chamber Brass, from Chicago, Illinois. Ensemble members include Ansel Norris (trumpet), William Cooper (trumpet), Kevin Haseltine (French horn), Joseph Peterson (trombone) and Scott Hartman (trombone).


The Senior String Division Silver Medal ($3,000) went to the Altius Quartet, whose members Sercan Danis (violin), Andrew Giordano (violin), Andrew Krimm (viola) and Zachary Reaves (cello) study at Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas. The Senior String Division Barbara Shields Byrum Bronze Medal ($2,000) went to the Evita Quartet of the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance, Ann Arbor, Michigan. Members include Hyorim Han (violin), Haerim Lee (violin) Yi-Chun Lin (viola), and Soojung Kim (cello).


In the Junior Division (for musicians eighteen and under), the First Place Medal and Scholarship of $2,300 was won by the Quartet Fuoco of Midwest Young Artists, Highwood, Illinois. Rachel Stenzel (violin), Aidan Perreault (violin), David Berghoff (viola) and Christopher Gao (cello). The Second Place Medal and Scholarship of $1,800 was won by the Vox Quartet of the The Academy of Music Institute of Chicago, Illinois. Members include Hansuh Rhee (violin), Serena Harnack (violin), Mira Williams (viola) and Nathan Mo (cello). The Third Place Medal and Scholarship ($1,300) went to the Quartet Firenze of The Colburn School of Performing Arts, Los Angeles, California. Members include Hao Zhou (violin), Tiffany Chung (violin), Nathan Wong (viola) and Iona Batchelder (cello). Honorable Mention went to the Snitzer Quartet of Settlement Music School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Members include Beatrice Hsieh (violin), Carolyn Semes (violin), Joseph Burke (viola), Zachary Mowitz (cello).


New this year, the Junior Division Wind Prize and scholarship of $500 was won by Enigma Saxophone Quartet of Spring, Texas. Members include Austin Houghton (soprano saxophone), Ronald Ogden III (alto saxophone), Elvys Del Jesus (tenor saxophone), and Steve Lopez (baritone saxophone). Sponsored by the American Brass Quintet, this award honors the most outstanding wind ensemble in the Junior Division.